Love of Making Homemade Bread.

Therapy with wholesome bread It all began when my husband and I got married and we received a bread machine as a wedding gift. I was so excited! I had dreams of domesticated skills developing immediately. Little did my new husband understand the blessings he would reap from such a woman’s tool.  That bread machine sparked my first attempts at making homemade bread anytime I felt the “June Cleaver” in me wanting to make dinners an epic of expression at the dinner table. I only had a pocketful of recipes that I felt confident in preparing for my new spouse. Breadmaking was a new art, but I was confident that as a college graduate, I could follow directions. Alas, I made hundreds of loaves in that single breadmachine our first few years. As our family grew, my breadmaking became more doubled in effort. I realized we were out growing our machine. I had to make the break and start experimenting with new recipes in larger quantities. It was an awarding endeavor! Those fresh golden chunks of heaven brought smells of comfort and contentment in our home. Even if there was a frantic day of many struggles as being a mom or the day just not turning out the way I had thought; as long as I had made loaves of fresh, warm bread that we all drenched in honey or my homemade strawberry jam, life was just as it should. Everything WAS good!
I love making bread! I turn to this weekly therapy as a service to my family and friends. This is the kind of service I enjoy. It brings a little part of me to others needing something to fill their souls. It fills my soul! It’s soul food…comfort food.

Here is my favorite whole Wheat bread recipe which I hope you will learn to try.  If anyone is interested in a video tutorial…just holler and I’ll put one together if there is a lot of interest.  Hugs!

Honey Whole Wheat Bread

6 cups hot water (not boiling)
2 Tbl kosher salt
3/4 cups honey
Stir until dissolved

Add:
1 cup oil
3 Tbl heaping of yeast
1to 1-1/2 c rolled oats
1/2-1 cup bran
1/4 cup of flax seed or flax oil (2 tbl)
1 cup gluten flour (vital wheat gluten)
2 cups whole wheat flour
2 Tbl Dough enhancer
Let sit 10 min. Then stir together. Continue to add whole wheat flour and stir until dough becomes to stiff to stir. Then, on a floured surface knead in more flour until its not too sticky. About 8-9 cup approx. up to 13 cups. You don’t want it too stiff and kneed until dough is soft, smooth and stretches with out breaking immediately.
Set oven to 350 degrees and put dough in a large greased bowl. Cover with a dry towel and set bowl on top of the stove. Set timer for 30 min. Dough should be about double. Punch down and form into five medium sized loaves. Let rise until 1/2 inch over edge of pan (about 25 min). Bake in oven 30 min.
**Note: I grind my own wheat for the flour, but wheat from the store is fine. Just make sure it’s fresh.
**Dough enchancer can be made from home. It helps keep the bread moist. Add 1/4 cup potato flakes for every loaf of bread your recipe calls for. Also, use the same amount of vinegar as you use yeast.
**The original recipe was given to me by my dear friend Mary Ethington

june cleaver June Cleaver

Posted using Tinydesk: WordPress blog editor

Leave a Reply

